perks of daily journaling.

There’s this thing called a habit tracker, and since I want to have a productive summer instead of sleeping in all the time, I decided to use this habit tracker to build up habits I want to do.

One of those habits was writing in my journal daily.

I have this gold dotted pink journal where I wanted it to be for the sole purpose of creative writing, I even have a wall of ideas for things I want to write in there, but I only checked off 3 of them out of the 30+ I had.

I think journals are a great thing to have, especially since I always buy a pretty journal, use it once, and never see it again. With this cutesy, aesthetic journal I wanted to use it ONLY for creative writing. And, I think that’s what stumped me.

It stumped me because I limited it to that. But the thing is, there are no limits to journaling. You can write about your day, you can write poetry or little stories to yourself, it’s up to you. You don’t have to do this, but I recommend doing a thing called “stream of consciousness.” Basically, you just write out all your thoughts. It doesn’t have to be organized, “it just has to flow out of you.” It’s a great way of letting out all your feels. They don’t have to make sense and you can literally write about anything.

I do this when I don’t know what to write in my journal. I just write once sentence like “the weather’s nice today. blah blah blah. ramble ramble ramble.”

You don’t even have to write in your journal. You can draw, or do collages, anything! It’s up to you what you want to create. I personally believe it’s a great way to reflect on what has happened and it’s great to dump out your thoughts if you already haven’t onto your blog or something.

I like to write in my journal in the morning to “get my creative juices flowing.” I’ll just write a poem, a very short story, a freewrite, or a stream of consciousness. Hell, you can even write an entry about fangirling over some idol you adore.

My favorite part is that there are no rules to journaling. You are the only person that gets to read this. It belongs to you and only you. If you don’t want to keep a physical journal, write in your phone. Maybe have an online document and write in there. Or, you can have download an app, whatever floats your boat.

Now, you don’t have to write in it everyday, just keep it consistent. Whether it’s everyday, every week, I don’t know. You don’t have to have a schedule. Just write as much as you want when you feel like it.

If you’re gonna start journaling, I recommend you do a stream of consciousness first, just to get you going. But you don’t have to follow my recommendation. Everything is up to you.

And now, I leave!

 

2 thoughts on “perks of daily journaling.

Leave a Reply

